Progress · Tips

Motivation Pt. 2 – How Do I Get Motivated?

How Do I Get Motivated?

SCHEDULE YOURSELF!  A lot of time and opportunity is wasted on wondering when you will do your next workout (I’ll use exercise as my example, since it is my goal.) If you do not schedule a time and day to work out, you will wake up hoping to “feel like working out.”  Setting a schedule for yourself is fairly painless, and will appeal to your goal-oriented mentality.  Most people, whether they acknowledge this or not, have a goal-oriented mentality.  If I’m doing squat reps at the gym and I set my goal for 5 sets of 7 reps, when I get to that last rep and I’m feeling pretty tired I tell myself it’s “just two more” and I muster the strength to finish.  Some people may jokingly refer to this as their own form of “OCD.”  Either way, set yourself a schedule and stick with that schedule and you will see results.

CONSISTENCY IS KEY!  Once you have your schedule set up, be consistent!  It’s an acceptable practice to have a “cheat day,” just as long as you make that part of your schedule.  I normally reserve my cheat day for Sunday, but if I make an allowance on Tuesday what is to stop me from making a “one time” allowance for Thursday or Friday?  Consistency can become your ritual to meeting your goals.  If your goal is to lose weight, an example routine might be: wake up at 5am, workout from 5:30-6:30, wind down with a shower, head to work from 8:00-4:30, come home, do some stretches or yoga to unwind from work or before bed to clear your mind and “power down” before going to bed early. Rinse and repeat this schedule everyday and it will become normal and you will see the weight loss!

Charles Duhigg notes The 3 R’s of Habit Change in his book The Power Of Habit.

3-Rs-of-Habit-Formation-1024x560

  • Reminder – The trigger that initiates the behavior
  • Routine – The Behavior itself and the actions you take
  • Reward – The benefit you gain from doing the behavior

Stay Tuned for the Third and FINAL part of my Motivation Series!

Backtrack to Part 1 – What Is Motivation?

2 thoughts on “Motivation Pt. 2 – How Do I Get Motivated?

Leave a Reply

